KOS Conference 2010

Minutes of Annual General Body Meeting of Karnataka Ophthalmic Society held on
30-10-2010 at Sea View Resort, Udupi.

I. President, Dr.V S Reddy, welcomed the gathering.
II. The minutes of the annual general body meeting held on 28-11-2009 at JJM Medical College, Davangere were read and accepted by the General body.
Report accepted
Proposed by Dr. M.M. Joshi
Seconded by Dr. Ravi Nadiger
III. Secretary’s report was presented by Dr Krishna Rao A.
a) No. of new members -25
b) Total number of members – 1354
c) Key issues to be addressed –

i)Wrong addresses- about 78 of them. It was suggested that it can be corrected by contacting Dr. Sai Giridhar Kamath, the web master, maintaining the KOS website.
ii)Many ophthalmologists despite practicing in Karnataka are not the members of the society.
iii)Many KOS members are yet to be AIOS members – for us to have any influence in the policy making of AIOS – then this isan absolute essential.
d)One time fellowship grant of Rs. 5,000/- was granted to Dr R Swathi of Bangalore (LM -1223)
Report accepted
Proposed by Dr. S V Ravindranath
Seconded by Dr. Sathyamurthy
IV. Dr. H M Ravindranath presented the report of convener scientific committee. 10 CMEs were organized in the current year. The help rendered by various institutions, District societies were appreciated and mementos were given away by the president as token of appreciation.
Report accepted
Proposed by Dr. Mahabaleshwar
Seconded by Dr. Surendra Shetty S

V. The efforts Dr.Prashanth C N, editor Chakshu was appreciated by the general body. 4 issues of Chakshu were published during the year.
VI. Treasurers report was presented by Dr. Manjunath B H
a) Auditors report was presented
b) FD of 30 lakh matured during this period was renewed for 37 months at the prevailing rate of 7.25%
c) The generous contribution from Davangere ophthalmic society of Rs. 1 lakh towards KOS was well appreciated by all
d) The cost of printing and posting Chakshu was brought into discussion and it was decided to continue in the present printed form.
Report accepted
Proposed by Dr. Mohan Nadiger
Seconded by Dr. Krishna Prasad
VII. The single handed, commendable efforts by Dr Sai Giridhar Kamath in maintaining the KOS website was well appreciated by the general body.
VIII. The election for the post of honorary secretary was conducted. Dr Venkata Subramaniam G, was declared elected against Dr Padma Jyothi by 138 to 76 votes.
IX. New team of office bearers headed by Dr. C N Gupta was installed.
Dr. Gupta C N, President.
Dr. Rama Mohan Rao K, President elect.
Dr. Mahebaleshwar M, Vice President.
Dr. Venkata Subramaniam G, Hon. Secretary.
Dr. Sathya J Kakade, Joint Secretary.
Dr. Raju S, Editor Chakshu.
Dr. Rajesh BTJ, Treasurer.
Dr. Deepak Megur, Convenor, Scientific Committee.